Ontario Region Martin Streef Memorial Scholarship Recipients

STREEF, Martin – President of Streef Produce Ltd., after a lengthy and very courageous battle with adrenal cancer. Martin succumbed peacefully at the London Health Sciences Centre on Wednesday April 30, 2008. Martin is survived by his loving wife Olivia (Preca) Streef, proud father of Christopher (Erin) of Hamilton, Benjamin and Desiree at home. Martin was the recipient of the prestigious “Outstanding Young Farmer Award” for Ontario in 1996. Followed later that year with the “Outstanding Young Farmer Award” for all of Canada. He is the past president of the Brant OFA and had remained an active director, for many years he has been a director for the Fresh Vegetable Growers of Ontario.  Martin left a lasting impression, both personally and professionally, on all who knew him.  His big smile and warm heart endeared him all.  His commitment to life long learning is continued in the generous donation of this scholarship

Background Image on this page in memory of Jordan Hiemstra.

2019 Scholarship Recipents

Congratulations Tim Koelen and Desiree Streef

I would also like to thank the selection committee for selecting me as this year’s recipient of the Ontario’s Outstanding Young Farmers scholarship. This scholarship money will help me to pursue my passion for agriculture and attend one of the best agriculture schools in Ontario. In turn, this education and future experiences will lead to a more productive, environmentally sustainable and an animal welfare friendly farm under my management. Perhaps one day, I will be able to influence others.

2017 Scholarship Recipients

presented by Past Chairman Cory VanGroningen to Caitlyn Hiemstra and Kelsey Owen

                             Shannon Russell, Cobden                                                   Alyssa Cronin, Bluevale 


2014 Chelsea Steele, Norwood                                               2014  Justin Hiemstra, Aylmer

2012 – Ian Steele, Norwood          2011 – Alisha Burgess, Mildmay     2010 – Amanda Vandenberk